Crappy Food vs Kale | Thriving Health Manifesto

When the Universe gives you a nudge, or in my case a serious dose of Optic Neuritis, a numb bum, stumbling feet and needles and pins, it is time to stop resisting and make some changes. These changes don’t all happen all at once. As we get older, situations change and we discover new things we like/dislike, we pick up things that work and put down things that don’t. This may include medications for illnesses or conditions or other treatments.

I’ve learned from living with MS, that it takes more than a pill to be well. I’ve got to move. There are actions to be taken, nothing passive about this challenge when it is the things we do everyday, the choices we make, the food we eat, the exercise we do and the kind of people we choose to be that works for our benefit. Everything counts and the choices really really do matter to your health now and right until you take your last breath.

Arianna Huffinton: 12 Ways to Thrive from http://www.mindvalley.com

Books for the Journey

You have to read to learn from others what you’ll need. There are people who will put into a few words solutions that you may never get to learn in your own life-time. Take what you need, apply to yourself and try things on. Arianna Huffington has recently released Thrive, all about living well and taking time to make the most of this short life. It is about doing things differently and redefining success on our own terms.

Managing MS Naturally by Judy Graham (http://www.innertraditions.com/Contributor.jmdx?action=displayDetail&id=301) was the first book I picked up after diagnosis. It got me back onto earth and provided me with some great information for a newbie MS’er.  I’m also using the updated version which is packed full of advice. I went gluten-free, cut out dairy and went for the better options.

Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis by George Jelinek. It is a great read, there’s a Recovery Programme, oodles of inspiration and it will really add treasure to your health. It is a book I read often and dip into for inspiration and a general pick up when things are getting on top of me. There is a website- http://www.overcomingms.com

Mindfulness: Finding Peace in a Frantic World is part of the upsurge in awareness of mindfulness. Guess what? It works. My cognition has improved, concentration is better and I’m more productive in my life when I take time out. What else is more important that ensuring your brain functions well? The spreadsheet/washing/phone call/email can wait. Your wellbeing can’t. http://franticworld.com/

Meditation works. I started by reading Full Catastrophe Living by Jon Kabat-Zinn three years ago and was practising but not every day. I recently took an 8-week course which was a great way to get comfortable and meet some wonderful people. As it turns out, I’m more relaxed, can see what matters and am a better partner and friend.

Dr. Terry Wahls- The Wahls Protocol is another excellent source of inspiration and get-yourself-sorted tips. Here is the link to more information http://terrywahls.com/about/about-terry-wahls/ Currently I have two pots of curly kale growing on my balcony to make sure I’m boosting my nutritional intake as much as possible! This morning, I discovered 1229 caterpillars also enjoying the benefits of the stuff.

It took decades for MS to manifest itself in me. Thankfully, I have the rest of my life-time to make positive changes, manage and live to the fullest of my being. There are LOADS of healthy diets and plans and all sorts to help us live better with MS but only if we actually make the changes. Life is a ‘chronic condition’- there is no miracle cure but there are so many things we can do to make life better so we can be happier about ourselves and how we live.

Tell me what you think, if anything, about what you eat. What’s your Health Manifesto? Does it matter to you? Join me on Twitter @emmadragon

© Emma Rogan 2014

If you want to quote or use this material, please refer to me as author. It’s good karma and plagarism isn’t nice.

2 thoughts on “Crappy Food vs Kale | Thriving Health Manifesto

  1. I agree with the part “Meditation works” even I use to meditate whenever I feel tensed. Then I realised a huge difference in my thinking and made me more relaxed so I started meditating daily as a routine. And I experienced a life of happiness. I highly recommend meditating on daily basis.

    Like

    • It is the subtle changes that become significant over time. I too realised the value particularly when meditation and mindfulness were absent for even a single day. Our minds are powerful tools for us to make a good life for ourselves (no though delusion mind you!). However, we do need to realise our thoughts are not real and as John Milton said,
      “The mind is its own place, and in itself
      Can make a Heav’n of Hell, A Hell of Heav’n”

      Paradise Lost, Book 1.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

